• Surya - The God of Light: Surya (Surya Narayana) symbolizes the Sun God and is considered as the only visible form of God that can be seen every day. In the Vedas Surya Dev is referred to as the god of light who is responsible for sustaining all life on earth by providing all radiance and energy. He by mounting the wheel of time is also the one who is responsible for the beautiful seasons and causing the cycle of day & night. Surya is the lord of excellence and wisdom.
    Surya is depicted as a red man with three eyes and four arms, riding in a one wheeled chariot pulled by seven horses. Surya is believed to be the King of all the planets(Navgrahas) and is responsible for controlling all their movements. Saturn or Shani Dev happens to be the son of Surya devta.

  • Lord Vishnu - Embodiment of Peace: In the basic Hindu Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva the Hindu god Vishnu is the preserver and protector of creation. Vishnu is the embodiment of mercy and goodness, the self-existent, all-pervading power that preserves the universe and maintains the cosmic order Dharma.
    Vishnu is often represented resting on the coiled serpent Shesha, with Vishnu's consort Lakshmi massaging his feet. Vishnu never sleeps and is the deity of Shanti, the peaceful mood. Vishnu does not however tolerate Ego.
    Most of the time, good and evil forces are evenly matched in the world. But at times, the balance is destroyed and evil demons get the upper hand. Often in response to a request by the other gods, Vishnu then incarnates in a human form to set the balance right again. Vishnu incarnations are generally recognized as Vishnu avatars, even though some sources also see other important figures of the indian epics as incarnations of Vishnu.

  • Lord Shiva - Lord of Destruction: Lord Shiva represents the aspect of the Supreme Being (Brahman of the Upanishads) that continuously dissolves to recreate in the cyclic process of creation, preservation, dissolution and recreation of the universe. As stated earlier, Lord Shiva is the third member of the Hindu Trinity, the other two being Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu.
    Lord Shiva is the Lord of mercy and compassion. He protects devotees from evil forces such as lust, greed, and anger. He grants boons, bestows grace and awakens wisdom in his devotees. His most common depiction is as a dark-skinned ascetic with a blue throat. The river Ganga cascades out of his matted hair and he is surrounded by serpents. He is carried by his ox, Nandi.

  • Lord Ganesh - Remover of Obstacles: Lord Ganesha is the elephant-headed God. He is worshipped first in any prayers. His Names are repeated first before any auspicious work is begun, before any kind of worship is begun.
    He is the Lord of power and wisdom, who is the source of all bliss, and who is the bestower of all virtuous qualities and success in all undertakings. the remover of all obstacles, with a form which is very short, with mouse as Thy vehicle, with sweet pudding in hand, with wide ears and long hanging trunk. He is the eldest son of Lord Shiva and the elder brother of Skanda or Kartikeya. He is the energy of Lord Shiva and so He is called the son of Shankar and Umadevi. By worshipping Lord Ganesha mothers hope to earn for their sons the sterling virtues of Ganesha.

  • Ma Durga: Durga symbolizes the power of the Supreme Being that maintains moral order and justice in the universe. Durga is also known as "Shakti". Worship of the goddess Shakti is very popular among the Hindu people. Durga stands for the unified symbol of all divine forces; Strength, Morality, Power, Protector.

Auspicous days for worship

  • Ganesh - any day, especially Ganesh Chaturthi (4th day after full moon)
  • Shiva - any day, particularly Monday and Friday, especially Trayodashi (13th day lunar or tithi)
  • Hanuman - Tuesday and Saturday
  • Durga - Monday and Friday, especially the ashtami (8th thrimi)
  • Sarswatee - Wednesday and Friday
  • Lakshmee - Monday and Friday
  • Satyanaraayana - any day, especially Sunday and poornima (full moon)
  • Suryanaraayana - Sunday
  • Shanidev - Saturday

Color of flags for various deities

  • Ganesh - Orange or Light Yellow
  • Shiva - White or Green
  • Hanuman - Red
  • Durga - Yellow
  • Saraswatie - White
  • Lakshmi - Pink
  • Satyanaaraayan - White or Red
  • Shanidevi - Black